Some Books of Interest

I’ve joined a book club here in Beijing that is the two branches combined (not the Shunyi branch that is much further out). It’s mostly made up of women whose husband’s are working here (business, embassy, or teaching) or, there is a segment of the other branch that are Kennedy Center teachers somehow connected to BYU and teaching at Peking University (I think) for a few semesters at a time. This time we met on my side (west) of Beijing, but still much further north than I live. Instead of being an hour subway ride, it was only about 45 minutes.

Last year the book club focused a lot on books that westerners living in China should read. They didn’t want to overwhelm everyone by continuing with that pattern or rereading books so they gave us newcomers a list of books we should tackle while living in China. I thought I’d share the list with you. Several of these books are banned in China.
Life and Death in Shanghai by Nien Cheng

The People’s Republic of Amnesia: Tiananmen Revisited by Louisa Lim

My Tibetan Childhood: When Ice Shattered Stone by Naktsang Nulu

Wild Swans: Three Daughters of China by Jung Chang

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution by Ji-li Jiang

China Road: A Journey into the Future of a Rising Power by Rob Gifford

One thought on “Some Books of Interest

  1. I love Life and Death in Shanghai–it’s one of my favorite books. Another interesting one that starts out in China (and then moves to America) is Thousand Pieces of Gold. Happy reading! Write reviews on goodreads or on your blog so I can see which ones I should read from this list!

Leave a Reply

