Facebook Posts

3/5  For the first time in 36 hours, the VPN on my computer is working long enough for me to check my email and Facebook. China’s gov’t is in session, which means there’s a crackdown on blocking websites. Our VPN company credited everyone two weeks for free rather than try to fight it.

3/20

We’re only in China for one more season, and 8 days of official summer.

3/21

I made a pecan pie yesterday with the pecans I had leftover from our Pi Day pecan pie. I also had a bag of peeled, cut and drenched in lemon juice apples in the fridge that I forgot to take on our Friday field trip and leftover pie crust. Will and I fashioned an apple pie in a bread pan with the leftover crust, the apples, sugar, brown sugar and cinnamon. It turned out quite yummy!

3/22
It’s never comforting to be riding on the subway while the subway tvs are broadcasting news about bombs on another city’s subway. #Brussels

3/26
I just got the VPN to work on my phone for the first time in a couple weeks and my phone went NUTS with notification noises from all the emails and Facebook notices that it has missed.

3/30  Just as I’m leaving Asia, Weezer announces an Asia tour.

4/6
I read an article titled “Potty Revolution,” about how much China plans to spend on fixing up their public restrooms. I read the article title to the kids and explained the Cultural Revolution reference but had to explain this wasn’t a Chinese news source. Buddy said, “The Chinese newspaper would call it ‘The People’s War on Toilets.'” Ha!

4/7

  This is on our elevator door. Squidgems’s translation, “no stickin’ your fingers between the doors or blood will come out.” He’s had better translations of it, but this is the only one I can remember right now.

4/15
I miss driving around in a car and blasting the music so loud it blocks out all other noise. ‪#‎mykidstalknonstop‬

4/16
There was a guy smoking IN our subway train on the way home tonight.

4/18
I made Princess Sparkley read Romeo and Juliet so we could watch the Baz Luhrmann version of Romeo + Juliet. Now that she’s finished, stinkin’ China and Netflix and the internet and our vpn aren’t cooperating so we can’t even watch it. frown emoticon

4/19
China’s a bit on my nerves this week. No one knows how to drive. I had to wait in line for more than 5 minutes yesterday in order to purchase a roll of tape (less than 30 cents) from the stationary section of my grocery store because stuff from that section has to be purchased separately from your normal groceries. They just spent last week putting new asphalt tiling in front of our neighborhood grocery store (the whole parking lot) and today it’s all being torn up by an excavator. The internet. There’s nothing yummy to get when you go to the grocery store and have the munchies. My kids are normally on the shy side, but China has made Squidgems especially shy because everyone is always looking at him, touching his hair, trying to make him talk to them, handing him random food, etc. ‪#‎RantOver‬ ‪#‎IThink‬‪#‎IllProbablyHaveToGoOutsideAgainBeforetheDayIsOver‬

Leave a Reply

